let go

“One of the most courageous decisions you’ll ever make is to finally let go of what is hurting your heart and soul.”

-Brigitte Nicole

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
a little #selfie from this headspace

I have been stuck on this quote lately. While in this strange transition period in life, there has been a lot of letting go. Letting go of relationships that are no longer strong, letting go of possessions, letting go of the person I was when I last lived in this town. It is a freeing, healing process.

Letting go, for me, has been a constant process. My high school self was anxious, unsure, insecure and stuck in the frame of the perception of others. I worked relentlessly to shed that skin in college. And fortunately, I was successful.

That teenage girl popped into my head as I was dancing around my bedroom today while rearranging the furniture.

While I was growing up, I was told that I had no rhythm. That I could not dance. So, naturally, I stopped dancing. I hesitated in the presence of music and open space for years.

These comments still cause my heart to sink and tears to well in my eyes. Though seemingly insignificant, they are representative of a period of self-loathing and self-doubt that I do not care to revisit. Pulling from the words above, they hurt my heart and soul.

But then, as I entered my twenties, I realized that I could dance. I realized, in fact, that I loved dancing. I found freedom and joy in the blur of my best friends, throwing my arms in the air and laughing. Swirling in a circle, I shed the skin of the girl who was told she could not, and should not, dance. I let go. Now I dance every chance that I get. My life is better for it. My soul is free.

With the last of the trees shedding their leaves, I hope you let go of something too. I hope you free your heart and soul. I would love to hear what that something is. I love you all.

4 thoughts on “let go

Leave a Reply

