faith & alex

DSC_0848

These two make my heart all warm and mushy. Last weekend when I was in Ithaca, I was able to see my dear friend Faith and her husband Alex before they hopped on a plane to Australia.

Backtracking a bit, I met Faith while interning at a community radio station two summers ago. We became close friends and I now consider her one of my most cherished sisters. This past year, Faith took off on a cross country roadtrip in her van “Hayduke.” As a passionate environmental activist, she ended up at Standing Rock, North Dakota, a protest camp set up by the indigenous population to resist the Dakota Access Pipeline. There, she met and married Alex.

These two truly inspire me with their commitment to a sustainable lifestyle and liberated existence. In anticipation of their voyage to Australia, Alex’s home country, they set up The Earthling Dream. Their mission statement is beautiful: “We’re on a mission together — to live in the present, to nurture our love, and to build a lifestyle that is compatible with the health of this planet.”

I cannot wait to follow their journey and I encourage you to do the same. We all have something to learn from their values.

During their going away party two weeks ago, we snuck outside to snap some photos. These snaps are still making me smile. Enjoy.

DSC_0850DSC_0859DSC_0860DSC_0868DSC_0870DSC_0873DSC_0881DSC_0883DSC_0884

3 thoughts on “faith & alex

  1. Em! I read this in my email with Alex while we were in Sydney. I’ve been meaning to thank you and push it on my social media, but we got a little caught up with the whole acclimating to Australia thing, haha. Reading this made me smile from ear-to-ear, and Alex’s mom wants to get one of the photos printed and hang it up in her house. Thank you so much for all of your support and love! Btw, I put one of the photos of the three of us on our latest blog post about travel and sustainability ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

