exploring portsmouth, nh (and kittery, me)

I love New England. I love taking any opportunity I get to visit, especially when it involves exploring new places. Last month, I visited Devin in New Hampshire. It was a lovely and relaxing week, and we spent plenty of time driving around, walking through cute towns, and taking photos.

Within a week, we explored parts of Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, and Massachusetts. We ended up visiting Portsmouth twice. Once on a day off and again on a work day (we both work remotely).

Of course, I brought my point and shoot camera along to capture some photos.

Portsmouth is beautiful. It’s a small historic city on the water. The downtown area is full of cute shops and restaurants. We wandered around the streets, popping into different stores and drinking lots of coffee.

Some of the stores were swanky, and many were touristy. But we found plenty of gems. I bought a cute top at a small thrift shop. There were also stores devoted to specific niches like board games, pet goodies, toys, and home decor. It seems to be a community that prioritizes small businesses. I enjoyed that aspect of it.

Just outside of downtown is a cute coffee (and floral) shop called Wild Valentine. I wish I had more photos of the space. We sat at the counter against the front window while visiting (once to relax and sip coffee, and once to work). The shop has lovely natural light and delicious coffee.

No coffee adventure is complete without donuts. These are vegan donuts from Lovebirds in Kittery. We drove there on our way and brought the box along to Portsmouth. The detour was beyond worth it. I’m still dreaming of the cardamom rose donut on the left.

Starting a series called Devin With Doors

This blog post isn’t in chronological order at all (and neither will be any upcoming posts about this trip). But you know when you’re tired and hangry and the perfect food finds you?

That’s what happened with this plate of vegetarian yakisoba from Anju Noodle Bar in Kittery. This place has my heart. It was the perfect ending to a long day of exploring.

I’m so grateful for the experience of visiting this area. Even in the February cold, the sunshine and waterfront were perfectly energizing. I look forward to returning.

More photos to come of New England adventures!

Leave a comment